Another One Already?

I didn’t expect my next post to be about another death, but John Hughes a.k.a. Edmond Dantes just passed away last August 6. I didn’t know who he was until I checked out his filmography. To my surprise, he was the guy behind Sixteen Candles, The Breakfast Club and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. So I say that he was a pretty influential guy. Those are three popular movies that defined the 1980s for teens during that time.

Although I have little recollection of those movies, Hughes was also the guy behind the Home Alone series, unfortunately including the 3rd and 4th ones. From those teen movies in the 1980s, Hughes shifted to writing family movies in the 1990s. Besides the Home Alone series, he was also the writer behind all of the Beethoven movies, Dennis the Menace, Baby’s Day Out, Miracle on 34th Street, 101 Dalmatians and Flubber. Yes I saw all of those and they were pretty entertaining then.

Unfortunately, this decade wasn’t kind to Hughes with bombs such as the last three Beethovens, Just Visiting, Home Alone 4 and Maid in Manhattan (I was surprised too), although he redeemed himself with Drillbit Taylor. Yeah I saw all of those too. To top it all off, he passed away before the turn of the decade. So the 2000s was really bad for Hughes.

Anyway, RIP John Hughes. You may not be a Cory Aquino or a Michael Jackson, but you still deserve this blog post.

February 18, 1950 – August 6, 2009

February 18, 1950 – August 6, 2009

Leave a Reply

